Ending of a Book

Okay, I’ve finally finished reading Insurgent and Allegiant by Veronica Roth, and the ending of Allegiant, left me stunned. I adore Tris and Tobias, as they are both great characters, and Roth writes them very well. Allegiant is split between the two of them, and normally I don’t like the split perspectives during first person personas in the book, but Roth does it well, and after reading Allegiant, I know why she had the two different perspectives instead of just Tris like in her previous novels, Divergent and Insurgent.

There is always that feeling I get when ever I finish reading a book, or  a series, where we have followed the same characters throughout a number of books, and it suddenly comes to an end, doesn’t it just leave you with a feeling of what now? Now, I want to read more of what these characters are going to be doing, and what is going to happen to their lives now, after everything that they’ve been through, or if it is a romance book, are they really going to be able to stay together and live happily ever after?

I’ve been told that the beginning of a book is the most important, as the story begins to unfold, and the middle is where everything happens, while the ending is just finishing it off, and tying the loose ends. But the ending is just as important, as a writer and a reader, the endings are highly important because it is the last part of the book you read, the last time you’ll see the characters (if it is the final book in the series), and the ending is what most people remember after finishing the book.

Endings of books should capture the reader’s attention, just as it has throughout the entire book. There are many books that I’ve read where I haven’t wanted it to end but the author doesn’t leave me disappointed when they finish it with a memorable sentence or word, something more imaginable then the end.

JMR

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Leave a Reply

