Iris Murdoch

Ranked by The Times in 2008 as twelfth on the list the 50 Greatest British Writers since 1945, Dame Iris Murdoch is best known for her novels about good and evil; sexual relationships, mortality and the power of the unconscious.  Winner of the Booker Prize in 1978 for her novel “The Sea, the Sea”, Iris Murdoch was born this day July 15 in 1919 had achieved an amazing life as a writer with publishing 24 novels, her first “Under the Net” (1954), and some other favourites “The Unicorn” (1963), ” The Black Prince” (1973). Her final novel was “Jackson’s Dilemma” (1995). It was around this time that she began to suffer from the first signs of Alzheimer’s disease, symptons of which she first attributed to writers block. She died age 79 in 1999.
Her life was one of successful achievments and still after 14 years remembered through her novels.



Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s