Book 22: Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn

Book 22 to Christmas: Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn

Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn

Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn

The first book in the Lady Julia Grey series by Deanna Raybourn, Silent in the Grave, begins the story with “To say that I met Nicholas Brisbane over my husband’s dead body is not entirely accurate. Edward, it should be noted, was still twitching upon the floor,” and from here we dive into a world of dark mystery and murder with the swarthy, inscrutable private investigator Nicholas Brisbanen who informs Lady Julia that her husband’s death may not have been due to natural causes. Lady Julia finds herself thrust into surroundings she could never have imagined, from the elegant home of a renowned courtesan, to a volatile boxing match in a gypsy camp, determined to bring her husband’s murderer to justice. Only when the truth begins to emerge, it seems there was a great deal Julia did not know about her husband.
With smartly and enigmatic characters, especially the eccentric relations of Lady Julia and the charming dark enigmatic Brisbane, whom Lady Julia may find herself become rather attached to, this book is perfect mystery to read this Christmas holidays. A wholly original mystery set in upper-class Victorian England; it combines a plot full of mystery and secrets with a romance that would leave you wanting to read more of Lady Julia and Nicholas Brisbane in the sequel, Silent in the Sanctuary.


Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s