Book 17: The Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Christie

Book 17: The Sittaford mystery by Agatha Christie

The Sittaford Mysteries by Agatha Chrisite

The Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Chrisite

The Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Christie, first published in 1931, is another great story to read during a spare time of these busy Christmas holidays.
Sittaford is a tiny village on the fringe of Dartmoor. Mrs Willett and her daughter Violet are the newly installed tenants of Sittaford House, a residence owned by Trevelyan, a retired Army captain. They invite four people to tea on Friday afternoon: Captain Trevelyan’s long-standing friend, Major Burnaby, Mr Rycroft, Mr Ronnie Garfield, and Mr Duke. At the suggestion of Mr Garfield, the six of them decide to play a game of table-turning. During this séance, a spirit announces that Captain Trevelyan has just been murdered. Concerned for the Captain’s safety in Exhampton, Major Burnaby says that he intends to walk the six miles in the thick layer of snow on the ground. During the middle of a blizzard, Major Burnaby arrives at the house where the Captain is living, with no reply; he fetches the local police and a doctor. When they enter the house through an open window, they find the dead body of one Captain Trevelyan.
Have a read and tell me what you think of The Sittaford Mystery?


Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s